What do Google, Trader Joe’s, Zappos, and Facebook have in common?

I’m currently designing and developing a dental website, and recently discussed the project with a friend. She comments that she would never go to a dentist based on their website. She would research a dentist’s website, but would only go there based on a recommendation from someone else. So, how do you get those recommendations? Answer: Turn satisfied customers into brand advocates. Check out Fast Company’s article, “5 Ways to Foster Fanatical Brand Advocates”. There is nothing more powerful than a trusted recommendation from a brand advocate, and with social media the reach far exceeds advertising.

Oh, and what do Google, Trader Joe’s, and Facebook have in common? They all built their brands without advertising. Advocates used social media to recommend them to their friends.

About bmdcreative

I’ve always been interested in art for as far back as 
I can remember. I took my cue from all the children’s 
books I read. The interplay of words and images on a 
page had always intrigued me, and not long after that, 
pop-up books became a big part of my library as well. 
I would spend countless hours pouring over them and wondering, “How did they do that?” So, you might say 
that my creative path was set long before I even 
realized it. Professionally, I started right out of high 
school knocking on doors and putting myself through 
school. From there I just kept on growing and learning. What might distinguish me from other talented and accomplished creative artists is not so much the art 
itself—it‘s the heart. Could I imagine doing anything 
else? Teaching others what I have learned over the 
years has always been an interest, but I can tell you 
this—I absolutely love what I do! And, during all of this I have become a mother, knitter, 
crafts person, a student (again and again), kid’s sports 
fan, girl scout volunteer, lover of the outdoors, and 
mistress of a good book. View all posts by bmdcreative

Leave a Reply

