Get inspired with the Color Scheme Designer!

The Color Scheme Designer is a handy and useful website for designing with color. Created by Petr Stanicek, a professional web designer and online application programmer from the Czech Republic.

Since this site works with web-based colors, you will be using a six-digit number referred to as a hex triplet. You can select a color on the wheel or input the primary RGB value. Enabling “show text” will also give you a preview of how copy appears on the color backgrounds. See screen shot below.

 

Now, the fun begins. Explore the complementary, triad, tetrad, analogic and accented analogic color models. It’s very handy to enable “Show Tooltips” under “Help” in the menu for an explanation of these color models. There’s also an “Adjust Scheme” palette for hues, saturation, brightness and contrast. I especially like viewing web page examples of selected colors with the option of choosing a light or dark page. There’s even a “Vision Simulation” option for color vision deficiencies. But, the biggest payoff is the ability to export your color scheme in various formats for real life application.

Bottom line, it’s nice to see real-time results of color schemes before creating a design. A great site for designing with color whether it be for websites, interior design, fashion design or just plain old inspiration.

So check it out at http://colorschemedesigner.com and get inspired! If you’ve used this tool, I would love to hear how it’s worked for you. Leave a comment below!

A special shout out to Bradford Stevens of New Jersey Creative Professionals and O2 Marketing for sharing this tool.

About bmdcreative

I’ve always been interested in art for as far back as 
I can remember. I took my cue from all the children’s 
books I read. The interplay of words and images on a 
page had always intrigued me, and not long after that, 
pop-up books became a big part of my library as well. 
I would spend countless hours pouring over them and wondering, “How did they do that?” So, you might say 
that my creative path was set long before I even 
realized it. Professionally, I started right out of high 
school knocking on doors and putting myself through 
school. From there I just kept on growing and learning. What might distinguish me from other talented and accomplished creative artists is not so much the art 
itself—it‘s the heart. Could I imagine doing anything 
else? Teaching others what I have learned over the 
years has always been an interest, but I can tell you 
this—I absolutely love what I do! And, during all of this I have become a mother, knitter, 
crafts person, a student (again and again), kid’s sports 
fan, girl scout volunteer, lover of the outdoors, and 
mistress of a good book. View all posts by bmdcreative

Leave a Reply

